Empty Space on the Shelves! A Call for Recommendations

Hey there, wonderful Aslan’s Library readers! I just spent a couple of hours combing through my booklists, checking library availability, and preparing a big long list of books to read and (hopefully!) review. But I can’t shake the feeling that I am Missing Something. Maybe I’m just tired of seeing only through my own two eyes, and would like some fresh perspective and new books?

(Do you ever find that you gravitate towards the same kinds of books for your kids, over and over? Our library branch is small enough that I’ve realized I do. I just keep checking the same books out unless I plan ahead and make some requests. In fact, I had a fairly eye-opening experience lately when we got a tote bag full of books from our preschool. Glancing through them, I felt the same mild disinterest I do when scanning an uninspiring shelf at the library. “I would have totally passed these over,” was my thought. “But now I have to read them.” I proceeded do just that, with the almost-three-year-old, and we actually mostly enjoyed them. It turns out that I have an unconscious bias against talking animal books, unless they’re fairy tales. Those are the books I always pass by without a second glance – to our reading poverty, apparently.)

Anyhow, in the event that I’m practicing a theological version of my unconscious anti-talking-animal bias: I’m polling all of you for some recommendations. Are there beloved titles on your shelf that you think belong in Aslan’s Library? Any new releases that you’ve been eyeing, trying to decide whether to purchase?

Oh, and by the way: keep your eyes open for some anniversary goings-on around here in the upcoming weeks. It’s hard to believe, but we’re coming up on three years…

6 thoughts on “Empty Space on the Shelves! A Call for Recommendations

  1. I have a title: I am my Grandpa’s Enkelin by Walter Wangerin. It has zero reviews on Amazon. How is that possible?!

    It is a beautiful, large hardcover picture book available for less than $8 on Amazon right now. And of all the books that we were given, recommended, and loaned to help our children in the loss of their grandparents, this one stands out for its masterful literary treatment of resurrection. In my humble opinion, I think it will earn a place in Aslan’s Library once you’ve read it. 🙂

    • Thanks, Graham! You’re right: I can’t believe there are no reviews. And it’s on sale right now for only $7.58, so here’s a good chance to snap it up!

      Believe it or not, Haley reviewed it all the way back in 2010 (we’ve been blogging that long!), but I’m so happy to be reminded of this fantastic book.

  2. We have “The Church History ABCs” by Stephen J. Nichols, illustrated by Ned Bustard. It is excellent, kid-friendly, informative, but not too much information for little minds. We love it!

    • Thanks, Andrea. Looking at the cover on Amazon, I remember seeing it somewhere before, vaguely: now I need to go back and check it out!

  3. The Lion Children’s Bible by Pat Alexander
    Johnny Appleseed, Will Moses (I just love how Johnny would go around preaching the “Word right fresh from heaven”)

Leave a Reply

