Books for the New Year

Happy 2012!  We’ll be back into the swing of things here on the blog next Monday, so please stop by then.  In the meantime I wanted to pass on the link for the CYBILS 2011 finalists.  If you haven’t discovered the CYBILS children’s book awards yet, you’re truly missing out!  This is their sixth year of giving out book awards and as I’ve read through their picture book recommendations I’ve rarely read one of their finalists that I didn’t love.  They have lots of categories to include the full spectrum of children’s literature, so whatever your favorite age group or sub-genre they’re bound to have a list for you and your children.  I just added all of the 2011 picture book finalists to my library list and can’t wait to get my hands on them!

Anyone else want to chime in on what you plan to read (by yourself or with the children in your life) in the new year?  I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

