Non-Theological Books for 2s

If you’ve been reading here for a while, you may remember that I solicited your advice last February.  My daughter was about to turn 2 and I needed some help making the jump into the wonderful world of non-board picture books.  You all had such great suggestions, and we’ve enjoyed reading most of them over the past six months.

Now that we have a nice list of favorites that we love and have been repeatedly reading, I thought I’d revisit the topic and share with you my running list for 2-year-olds, just in case any of you are looking for some new titles for your library list or Christmas wish list.  Most aren’t theological, but I heartily recommend them all!

I know there are many, many more great books for 2-year-olds out there, so please chime in and let me know what I’m missing!

9 thoughts on “Non-Theological Books for 2s

  1. We’re at the 16-month mark, and starting to read – rather than just chew on or page through – books. It’s so good to have a reminder list in one place; I don’t remember all the books we checked out a couple of years ago.

    A few more that we loved, though, and have here at home: Each Peach Pear Plum; How Do You Say it Today, Jesse Bear?; One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish; and Fly Away Home.

    • We have the board book version of Each Peach Pear Plum (and love it), but I think having it in that format makes me think of it as a baby book. You’re right, though: it’s great for 2s as well!

      Fly Away Home, as in, the book about a homeless family who lives in the airport?

      • Oops: make that Sail Away Home, by Bruce Degen. I always get that title mixed up, because the book includes the line, “run away, run away, happy alone!”

        No homelessness in this one! 🙂

  2. I forgot all about Each Peach Pear Plum! I’ll need to find a copy for our home.

    We recently discovered Beth Krommes’s The House in the Night. We’re enjoying it now but I sure wish we’d had it sooner. The text and illustrations make for an excellent early picture book.

    • That’s a Caldecott winner, right? I think I started collecting them right after that one came out, so I’ve never read it. Another one to add to my library list! Thanks!

  3. Have you ever heard of the Ricka, Flicka and Dicka series? I think they are available in paper on Amazon, along with their male counterparts, Snip, Snap and Snur. Dating from maybe the 1930’s, R,F, & D are triplet girls in Scandinavia who wear cute polka dot dresses, get in very mild trouble and do good deeds. Sugary sweet, but still great for little ones. I read them in the 1950’s so you can see they made an impression.

  4. Leo Lionni keeps us engaged with his artwork and story telling. Little Blue & Little Yellow, Frederick & Swimmy are just a few of our faves. Tasha Tudor’s Annabelle is also dearly loved in our home. Thanks for sharing your delightful list.

  5. Pingback: Bookish Gifts for Kids « The Best Christian Kids Books: Aslan's Library

Leave a Reply

