The Swing of Things

Oh, summer.  It’s a fun season, and one that I always look forward to.  After all, what Minnesota resident wouldn’t look forward to our few short warm months?  But I have a confession: I’m really a Fall Person.  I rejoice when I get to flip the calendar to September.  I love the flavors of fall.  I like sweaters and curling up under a quilt and sipping hot chocolate.  And perhaps most of all, I love getting back into a routine after three months of traveling and activities and disruptive whatnot.

Which leads me to… Perhaps you noticed that Sarah has been keeping this blog afloat all by herself for the past, um, six weeks?  It turns out that a very full summer makes for a very delinquent co-blogger.   However, now that there are no more road trips on the horizon and we’re settling into a nice fall routine, you’ll be seeing a lot more of me around here.  In fact, as I type there are over a dozen potential books for review heading my way via interlibrary loan!  And I think I might even have a few food-for-thought posts sketched out in my mind!

Today, let me just leave you with this perfectly perfect quote from the main character in I Capture the Castle, which I read during my family’s final road trip of the summer.

When I read a book, I put in all the imagination I can, so that it is almost like writing the book as well as reading it – or rather, it is like living it.

While most of us probably primarily associate this kind of literary experience with reading works of fiction, I would like to submit that it’s also an entirely appropriate way to approach theological literature (including children’s theological literature, of course).  What do you think?  It seems to me, though, that if our children are going to immerse thenselves so completely in a theological book,  we should be taking care to ensure that their books are (yep, you guessed it) both beautiful and true.  And that is, of course, the driving force behind Aslan’s Library.  So here’s to a fall full of wonderful books and bookish conversation!  We hope you’ll stick around and join us for it.

 

Leave a Reply

